Archive for the ‘new releases’ Category

Sam Henderson book signing in New York

August 1, 2008

Sam Henderson book signing of Magic Whistle #11 at Desert Island on Friday, August 15

WHO: Sam Henderson

WHAT: Book signing

WHERE: Desert Island

540 Metropolitan Ave., Brooklyn NY 11211 • 718-388-5087

WHEN: Friday, August 15, 6PM

Admission is free to the public

 

New York, August 1, 2008: At what promises to be the most happening event since the premiere party for ‘Stroker Ace’, cartoonist Sam Henderson is doing a signing at Desert Island in Brooklyn on Friday, August 15, 2008 from 6-9 PM, signing copies of his newest Magic Whistle book, which is popular among people who know it exists.

 

“Even if you have my new book already/ just saw me/ were just there/ don’t like me/ don’t like the owner/ have other plans/ it’s raining, come anyway.” said cartoonist Sam Henderson, “There will be beer, and I know most of you like that.”

 

Magic Whistle #11: Body Armor For Your Dignity is the latest collection of works by Sam Henderson. Praised for finding new ways of being funny while simultaneously panned for lacking the draftsmanship skills of his peers, Henderson continues what he’s been doing all along for nearly twenty years. This 96-page tome contains stories ranging from 1 to 16 pages.

 

Magic Whistle #11: Body Armor For Your Dignity features the return of Monroe Simmons, a re-coloring of a story previously published in the children’s’ anthology MEASLES, tons of previously unpublished strips, and the high-low-brow humor audiences have come to expect from this cartoonist who has been nominated multiple times for a Harvey award and once for an Emmy. Despite work for publications such as NICKELODEON and VICE; storyboards for TV’s SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS; and animation for a video by THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS; Magic Whistle remains Sam Henderson’s proudest achievement. 

 

From Booklist, August 1, 2008:

 

More of Henderson’s crude but maximally energetic comics—hurray! They’re like no other artist’s, even if they do stand squarely in the traditions of big-nose gag cartooning (see Mark Newgarden’s We All Die Alone, 2005, to grok that) and bare-bones animation (Mister Magoo, Tom Terrific, Rocky and Bullwinkle). Their humor is sometimes innocently naughty, sometimes almost smart, always easy to identify with and oddly nostalgic. They look and “sound” like what you once drew and laughed at, even if, really, you never could draw or say anything funny; it helps that Henderson often recurs to childhood and adolescence for characters and situations. His single-panel cartoons and one-page strips are surefire joy-inducers (see “Patience Pays Off,” which may be hackneyed but still hits where you live), and his long stories are brilliant stuck-record routines that, like many a Monty Python sketch, trace the struggles of genial monomaniacs in a world that just won’t humor them. Come to think of it, if the Pythons had been Americans, they would have to have been Sam Henderson.

 

Magic Whistle #11: Body Armor For Your Dignity
By Sam Henderson, $11.95 US; Perfect bound paperback graphic novel; 96 pages; partial color; 6” x 9”; ISBN-13: 978-1-934460-04-7; ISBN-10: 1-934460-04-4; for Mature Readers.

MoCCA – New York – June 7-8

June 2, 2008

The annual MoCCA Art Festival is being held this weekend in New York at the historic Puck Building in lower Manhattan.

Alternative Comics has a number of exciting new books debuting at the show – We should be at table B43 – right across from Drawn & Quarterly.

Don’t miss these guys:

Sam Henderson will be debuting Magic Whistle #11: Body Armor For Your Dignity
Body Armor For Your Dignity

Karl Stevens will be promoting Whatever
Whatever

Scott Campbell will be selling art prints, mini-comics, t-shirts, and promoting the latest issue of Hickee
Hickee #4

Hickee v3 #3 – Now in Stores

July 1, 2007

Hickee #3

Hickee v3 #3 (Alternative Comics)
By Graham Annable, Paul Harvey Brown, Scott Campbell, Vamberto Maduro, Razmig Mavlian, Nathan Stapley, and Joe White.
For Mature Readers; 32 pgs; 6.625″ x 10.25″; $2.95; ISBN-10: 1-891867-95-4; ISBN-13: 978-1-891867-95-8; Diamond Code: APR07 3315; June 2007

The third installment of this humor anthology is a gamey one! All manner of games: bouncy games; square games; gladiatorial games; ball games and more are given the Hickee treatment by a crew of expert funny men. Hailing from such diverse backgrounds as animation, illustration, and surfing, these cartoonists bring all their skills to bear in Hickee. In the tradition of Mad, Weirdo, and Plop!, this book is for lovers of screwy, humorous comics. It’s packed from cover to cover with cartoons that will delight, shock and prod your funny bone! Giggle away at the latest works of Scott Campbell, Graham Annable, Razmig Mavlian, Joe White, Nathan Stapley, Paul Brown, and Vamberto Maduro.

“If this anthology of humorous comics by a group of San Francisco-area young artists is any measure, the spirit of anti-mainstream cartooning is alive and well.”—Publishers Weekly

[click for larger images]
Hickee v3 #3 full cover
Hickee v3 #3 sample page

Graham Annable is the award winning animator, editor, story artist, and cartoonist behind the Grickle books, Stickleback, and Hickee anthology from Alternative Comics. When he’s not swamped by his day job in Portland, Oregon, he stays up late making comics.. Contact Graham at grickle@hotmail.com or visit www.grickle.com.

Paul Harvey Brown is an artist living/working in Toronto, Canada. Better known in the industry as “Dr. Amazing,” Paul has been working in animation since the days before computers were invented. When he’s not animating, he can be found enjoying life’s simple pleasures — smelling roses and public streaking. Contact Paul at paulatron@sympatico.ca or visit www.paulbrown.ca.

Scott Campbell — has comics and paintings in a number of anthologies, including the new Flight4, Beasts!, and Project:Superior. He also does a daily comic at: www.doublefine.com and is responsible for some mini comics such as “Pyramid Car”. His paintings have been shown in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Portland, and Montreal. E-Mail Scott at scottc@doublefine.com or you can see more of his work at www.scott-c.blogspot.com.

Vamberto Maduro — Currently living in Toronto, Canada, Vam is the only member of Hickee with webbed toes. He works as an animator on a 3D children’s show, where his award for “Most Improved Student” in Grade 8 comes in handy. Contact Vam at chalkie2000@hotmail.com or visit vampinions.blogspot.com.

Razmig Mavlian — Livin’ a wicked lifestyle in the downtown core of San Francisco, Razmig finds time to animate and draw funny cartoons. Contact Raz at grickle@earthlink.net or vist lightningtothenations.blogspot.com.

Nathan Stapley lives in San Francisco and enjoys drawing, painting, and surfing in front of his house on Ocean Beach. He works as a texture artist at a video game company, but has also had several gallery showings of his own paintings and drawings. Nathan enjoys drawing comics, and hopes to put out a collection of his own. Contact Nathan at bagel@doublefine.com or visit www.nathanstapley.com.

Joe White — Hailing from Ontario, Canada and now living in the San Francisco Bay Area, Joe White has formulated a fascinating theory that places the soul of America in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He works as an animator and lives in a little hut on a mountaintop. Contact Mr. White at joewhitey@gmail.com or visit joe-white.blogspot.com.

Thunderhead Underground Falls – New Reviews

July 1, 2007

Thunderhead Underground Falls

Joel Orff’s Thunderhead Underground Falls graphic novel just hit stores, and is now starting to get reviewed:

Joel Orff’s latest graphic novel packs an emotional wallop that hits like a thunderbolt, a fact belied by the delicately rendered, highly abstracted art and the light touch with which Orff tells his sharply observed story…
[full review]
Las Vegas Weekly, June 28, 2007

…Thunderhead Underground Falls is an extraordinary graphic novel that brilliantly shows the spirit of young love that a couple feels in the face of impending life events…
[full review]
—Silver Bullet Comics, June 27, 2007

Joel Orff’s work has a rich, lovely quality that makes it difficult for me to make a rigorous appraisal of its overall worth…
[full review]
—The Comics Reporter, June 26, 2007

What a thoroughly beautiful book…
[full review]
—Optical Sloth, June 20, 2007